Inside Combat Rescue


Anyone who knows me knows that I like to pick on the Air Force. Granted, it is a good natured ribbing and it is only with those that I personally know who are serving or have served. Even though it is harmless and in good fun, they were the uniform of the United States military and I make sure that they know they have earned my respect and admiration when its all done.

However, there is a group of guys in the Air Force that I have a special place for in my heart. A group that, honestly, if I would have known existed, I would have joined the Air Force just to try to make it through their school.

Who are these guys that would make a die hard Navy300px-United_States_Air_Force_Pararescue_Emblem.svg man want to switch branches? None other then the United States Air Force’s Pararescue, or PJ’s for short. These guys are insane, in a good way, in my book. They go behind enemy lines, not to do harm, but to provide medical attention, to save the lives of wounded American soldiers while under fire and in peril, regardless of harm to themselves. They serve in selfless sacrifice and their motto is simple:

“That others may live”

A few weeks ago, I got a chance to watch NatGeo’s “Inside Combat Rescue”. It is a total of 6 episodes all just under an hour and I didn’t regret a minute of it. Here is a deleted clip from the show, but let me warn you, it is kind of heavy, but in it you get to see the heart and passion these men have for their job.

So, to the men in Pararescue, I dedicate this RED Friday to you.

Stay safe, so that others might live.

HOO YAH!

 

Combat Rescue

(if interested, I found it on Netflix)

 

R.E.D. Friday

One thought on “Inside Combat Rescue

Add your $.02

