Twelve again?


I recently wrote a blog about how my life is what it is today because of all my yesterdays. So when propositioned with the thought of going back and becoming twelve again, with the caveat of knowing what I know now, I have to say I have a mixed bag kind of feeling about it.

One, I’m happy with me. My life, where I am at, who I have become, what I have done. It’s not like all the bad isn’t there, or that I can somehow magically make all that go away by concentrating on the positive, but changing my perspective on how I look at things is paramount to being ok with me.

Second, I look at the thought of being 12 again. Seriously, that is scary. I have worked with enough youth to know that 12 is just… yeah. Pre-teen, awkward, acne, puberty and a whole lot of messy stuff that is ready to change in your life. I am pretty sure I can live without all that, even with the knowledge that I have now. I’m pretty sure that that would not be sufficient protection from those other things.

Then there is the fact that I am pretty sure that God had it down when he made us singular-directional time travelers. As we progress through life, we tend to take a rose colored glasses look at the past and only see all the possibilities we missed or could change if we could do it over again. However, we miss the fact that today is today because of all those yesterdays.

And like I have said before, and will continue to say…

I’m pretty happy being me.

Imperfections and all.

So, to answer the question asked at the top, would I ever want to be twelve again.

Nope.

But thanks.

What about you?

2 thoughts on “Twelve again?

Add your $.02

