Too Blave!


The Best Movie....Ever
The Best Movie….Ever

Ok, to start, I would never want this film remade. It is perfect just the way it is. (It happens to be my all time favorite movie, so.. biased? Yeah, just a bit.)

So, let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

Over the last 25 years, my wife and I have been compared to the love story that takes place in that movie. (fine, I’m the one doing the comparing… stop judging). From the ‘farm boy’ who is ‘poor and perfect’ to “Since the invention of the kiss, there have been five kisses that were rated the most passionate, the most pure… this one left them all behind.”

Anyone who has been around us for any length of time around us has probably seen us pull off a scene or two from the movie. Anything from me saying “As you wish” to both of us quoting the scene as Buttercup realizes the Dread Pirate Roberts is really Westley (yes, it’s spelled with a ‘t’) and falls down the hill after him (she did push him after all) to have him take her in his arms and say:

“Why didn’t you wait for me?”

 “Well… you were dead.”

then he says (in the greatest movie moment of all)

“Death cannot stop true love. All it can do is delay it for a while.” 

BOOM!

(ok, I’ll wait for you to finish tearing up and what not, it’s ok… I get it.)

Granted, I don’t live in the Fire Swamp, but if you were to stop by my home, you might be heard to say.. “It’s not so bad. I’m not saying I’d like to build a summer home here , but the trees are actually quite lovely.” (ok, so I don’t have trees IN my house). Oh, and we don’t have any ROUS, I don’t think they exist. (however, there are COUP’s, Cats Of Unusual Playfulness (and yes, COUP has another meaning also, which is totally fitting.))

Add to that, that I was a sailor, and I totally looked awesome in black, (fine, fine, it was my Navy dress blues, but, still, totes looked good) and I do own a sword that I know how to use (if waving it around menacingly is considered knowledge). Plus, I have this whole I can’t figure out if I am right or left handed thing.. so there’s that.

As for my Buttercup, well, if you go read how I asked her to go out with me, you will totally see how it resembles the movie (i.e. it doesn’t even come close). She had several guys who asked her out, but for some reason, she chose me. I still don’t quite understand why she chose me, cause I’m pretty sure I didn’t deserve her.. but “WOOT’s” to me, right?

But so much of our story is this movie that I think we are living it out every day. Her as my beautiful Princess and I as her dashing, swashbuckling, witty and charming Westley (yeah, I don’t believe any of what I said about myself either.) But we have our Giant Fezzik played by our son (that kid is hugishly tall), we have our Spaniard, Inigo Montoya (you killed my father, prepare to die (but I’m not dead yet, so.. whew to that one)) played by our daughter (she has this fight about her that just won’t back down), and we have our Vizzini.. or we don’t.. but, whatever… that’s an inconceivable point (granted, I don’t think that word means what I think it means).

As for Humperdinck… well, my Humperdinck has always been my pride and fear. Or, better said, to proud to admit I’m afraid, or afraid to admit I’m too proud.. or something like that, it’s gets all wibbly wobbly in my head. Trust me, he tried, we even had our very own moments of:

 “You truly love each other, and so you might have been truly happy. Not one couple in a century has that chance, no matter what the storybooks say. And so I think no man in a century will suffer as greatly as you will.”

But we are still here, almost 24 years later. And because this is for posterity sake, I’m being honest.

To finish up our story, or rather to really start it off on the right foot (again, it’s that timey whimey stuff), my wife chose to use “Storybook Story” as our wedding dance. (yeah, see, total keeper). So, that’s what I will leave you with, a great song from a great movie.

 

 

“My brains, his steel and your strength against sixty mean, and you think a little head jiggles suppose to make me happy?”

pingback

5 thoughts on “Too Blave!

  1. And wuv, tru wuv, will fowow you foweva… and eva… so tweasure your wuv…

    ^_^

    No, I haven’t seen that movie a thousand times, what are you talking about? >>>whistles innocently<<<

    Like

Add your $.02

