Page Turners


I have never really stopped reading. Granted, I never really did it with the fervor that some of the people I know do. There are a few of them that will complete an entire book (over 300 pages) in a matter of an afternoon. Me? I’m lucky if I can get through a 200 page book in over a month. I think part of that is due to the fact that I read every word like I was talking out loud (I write like that too, for instance, I am actually reading every word as I type it.. I know.. I know.. I’m strange).

Up until recently, I would say that most of what I was reading was non-fiction. Books on living a better Christian life, about youth culture, how to better do this or that, or any of a number of other books that dealt with being a better youth leader. On a side note, it is truly amazing how some people can take one concept and make a 300 page book out of it. Their ability for repetition is insane (and very, very boring).

A few years ago, I started reading the Narnia series by C.S. Lewis. I got through the first book The Magician’s Nephew, and got partly through The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, when I put it down because I really didn’t have the time. Working a full time job and trying to run a successful youth ministry has a way of limiting the amount of time you have for anything, and when I finally did have it, I chose to do mindless stuff like play video games or.. um.. I’m sure there was something else.. there had to have been.. please, let there have been something else.

Anyway, back in August, I stepped down from running the program and found myself with an unprecedented amount of time on my hands. So, I picked up Narnia again, and have been slowly going through the series, currently over half way through Prince Caspian. Narnia

(For those keeping tally, that’s just over 400 pages in about a month and a half. Yeah, I’m blazing through them.)

I am just over half way through the series now, and I’m not quite sure what I am going to pick up when I am done. But at my speed, I shouldn’t have to think about that for at least another 6 months.

Give or take a month.

So, any recommendations you have, let me know.

pingback

5 thoughts on “Page Turners

  1. Nothing wrong with taking your time and savoring every word. And yea, repetition is insane. It surely drives me crazy when I reading a 700+ word book that keeps repeating the same stuff.

    A recommendation: “A Wizard of Earthsea” by Ursula Le Guin

    Like

Add your $.02

