I am the Stacker


I stack.

Yep, I’m a stacker. Everything I own is normally in one stack or another, placed neatly and not too high. Corners are placed with corners. All lined up. Clean. It’s almost something that I can’t help but do. I think it’s part of my brain malfunction. The self diagnosed OCD that I have.

For instance, I walk into my bank, see a stack of brochures while standing waiting for the teller to complete the transaction and I just have to make them even. Not just with each other, but with the counter. Same with the cash envelopes, business cards, or any other stack that happens to catch my eye. (I do this other places, but as I go to the bank on a daily basis, it was the first example I could think of.)

So, all around my house, there are these stacks of my stuff, orderly and neat. My bedroom suffers the same treatment. All my books, stacked, biggest on the bottom. Sheets get stacked the same way. My clothes, on the dresser, folded and stacked (at least the ones I didn’t get into the drawers, which is pretty much most of them). The pillows and throw blankets on the bed, biggest to smallest. So, pretty much anything I can stack… done. 

My digital life is worse, in the fact that I stack it all, because… well, I can. My desktop is spotless, mostly. The only things I keep on it are the things I normally use. Some folders (read stacks) for quick access to my stuff, a few program icons (on my phone and iPad these are grouped (stacked) together), and not much else. Okay, I never click the icons on my desktop, but who really does? So stop judging me.

My flaw in all this is two fold, however. One, once stacked, my brain tells me I’m done cleaning, so, there are a lot of stacks, all over the place (real and digital) that just sit there. Secondly, because my brain has told me I’m done, I don’t even go back and look at it again until the stacks get messy and I have to re-stack the stuff (there are times I just get the urge to purge and then, nothing is safe). So, my system might keep things orderly, but in the real world, that order tends to be everywhere the world can see. Which, can get quite messy.

Now, my wife, on the other hand, is a stuffer. Not only is she a stuffer, but she tends to be forgetful about things. So when she sees what she thinks is a mess, she grabs that mess and stuffs it away. It drives me crazy when she does this, cause she doesn’t necessarily do an inventory of what she is stuffing, hence why I have found pots in linen closet, and unwashed dishes in the oven (seriously, she has done that, but, in her defense, it was because my mother made a surprise visit and she went into panic mode (at least that’s what I’m telling you all, because I like being married and she sometimes reads my blog)).

Enter my stacks into her equation (that wasn’t meant to be sexual so stop thinking like that), and she sees them as just a bunch of stuff that needs to be… um… stuffed. (yeah, not changing that sentence)

So basically, somewhere in my house is a stack of my things stuffed away…

Now if only I could figure out where that was.

pingback

6 thoughts on “I am the Stacker

  1. Haha! This was fun to read.
    I’m a stacker and a stuffer: I stack when I start cleaning and am excited about it and stuff when I get frustrated that the process is taking too long.

    Like

Add your $.02

