Mish-Mash of the 80’s


And you may tell yourself,

This is not my beautiful house,

And you may tell yourself,

This is not my beautiful wife.

All my instincts, they return

And the grand facade, so soon will burn

Without a noise. Without my pride,

I reach out from the inside.

I won’t be coming home tonight

My generation will put it right

Were not just making promises,

That we know we’ll never keep

 And being apart ain’t easy on this love affair

Two strangers learn to fall in love again

I get the joy of rediscovering you

Oh, girl, you stand by me.

I’m forever your’s, faithfully.

So needless to say

I’m odds and ends

I’ll be stumbling away

Slowly learning that life is OK

Say after me,

It’s no better to be safe than sorry.

Help, I’m stepping into the “The Twilight Zone”,

This is a madhouse, feels like being home.

My beacon’s been moved under moon and star,

Where am I to go now that I’ve gone to far?

(and… how many songs can you pick out without going doing an online search?)

pingback

4 thoughts on “Mish-Mash of the 80’s

  1. I can’t remember all the names of the songs without searching online but I got a lot of the bands…got the Talking Heads, “Days Go By”?, Genesis “Your Eyes”?? “Faithfully” (who sings that, can’t remember), don’t know the next one, then “Twilight Zone” (also can’t remember the band. Nicely done.

    Liked by 2 people

Add your $.02

