My diet has changed pretty drastically over the last 3 years. Before the change, you would find me sucking down a Diet Coke out of a 2-litre cup that I would refill at least 3 times a day, gnawing on some form of fast food (CiCi’s pizza was a fairly normal dinner place for me), and grinding up a bag of Swedish Fish in a matter of an hour or two (I’m talking the big pound plus bag, not those little small bags you pick up as you head to the cashier). Let’s not forget the all important Mac and Cheese either.

So, to recap… my diet was Diet Coke, Swedish Fish, pizza, dessert bread and pasta.

I’d like to tell you that all my changes were because I decided to get healthy or some other noble reasoning. However, I just decided to quit drinking Diet Coke (it was the second time I quit, the first lasted a month and a half and, well.. it was bad) one day. Something in me just said “enough”, so that was that. I struggled for about 3 months, jonesing for a sip of that sweet nectar, and eventually, the desire faded to a dull cry I can overlook most days. (I equate this to giving up a drug addiction and I’m not so sure that I am that far off base, cause Diet Coke is addicting as all get out).

This stuff is great.
Good Stuff

Now a days, I drink coffee and tea. Oh, and water. Lots of water. Everyone tells me how great it is for you, I’m like… pfft.. it’s just cold and doesn’t leave an aftertaste in my mouth. However, tea was something I never thought I would enjoy, especially the herbals. Right now my favorite is something by Tazo called “Sweet Cinnamon Spice Tea”. (you can keep that fruity stuff, most of it is just ehhh..).

As far as food goes… well, salads. Lots of salads. Spinach or romaine lettuce, garbanzo beans are not only awesome to eat, it’s fun to say too (Chick peas.. not so much).

Garbanzo... fun to eat, fun to say.
Garbanzo… fun to eat, fun to say.

Throw on some green or red bell peppers, a smattering of diced tomatoes (diced, can’t eat them whole.. it’s just weird), some olives (calamati are preferred, green are ok, black will do), sliced celery, bean sprouts (not too much, way to overpowering of a taste), a bit of shredded cheese on top. To top it off, either a good red wine vinaigrette or a balsamic. As an additional note… fruit does not belong in a vegetable salad. It’s just wrong. Fruit goes in a fruit salad… so.. never the twain shall meet. Got it? Now stop messing that up.

I also have taken to eating yogurt, the greek kind. I’ve been really enjoying that recently. Through in some oatmeal or granola and you got yourself a winner right there. Blueberry was my flavor of choice, but in the last few weeks, after being offered one by my sister-in-law (thanks, btw), the dark cherry has taken that spot.

Lastly, green smoothies. Something my wife started making a while back. I refused to let her tell me what was in them, because I have… had.. a problem with knowing all the stuff she was putting into it. These days, I tend to make my own (I’m a big kid now), and they usually include kale or spinach, ch-ch-ch-chia seeds, flax seeds, almond milk, some male super vitamin protein powder (my wife bought it, I just use it), and fruits. It’s not so bad.

I still like my Swedish Fish.. however, a bag will last me a few weeks these daysswedish_fish.

So, yeah… a drastic change? Maybe. But definitely one that I’m sure is causing people who have known me most of my life to wonder what did I do with the junk food addict that once existed in my steed.

Yeah… I’m not sure either.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Five a Day.”

10 thoughts on “What diet?

  1. Giving up Diet Coke is hard! I gave up all things soda for years and years but suddenly I just had to have a Diet Coke one day, like out of the blue and BAM! I’m addicted again. I keep telling myself that I’ll cut down, I’ll stop drinking it, but yeah… it’s not happening until I just stop (like I did last time). But I loves me some Diet Coke.

    And coffee. Ain’t nobody taking my coffee away.

    Liked by 1 person

Add your $.02

