Writers Gonna Write…


Standing in front of a crowd and speaking to them, something I have done numerous times before, just happens to be something I don’t particularly care for. Even with the years of stage acting I have done, and my ability to do things on the fly and off the cuff, and my dislike of reading, I still prefer the written word when it comes to expressing my thoughts.

DeathtoStock_Desk9

No, this isn’t my hand… I don’t wear nail polish..

Sure, you may say, “That’s because you are a writer” (and to that I would be humbly honored), but although there is truth in that particular comment, the whole truth is that, in writing out my thoughts I accomplish two things.

First, I get to put my thoughts together instead of being all ramshackled and tongue twisted. I can slow down, let things trickle out, edit it so it sounds how it should, fine tune it to get rid of all the vocal tics (um, uh, like, y’know… yeah, those), and make sure that my intended thought is portrayed in a worthy manner.

Secondly, I don’t have to worry about someone interrupting me, causing to lose my train of thought. On top of that, it is one long thought, full of my emotions, rage, truth, or whatever other emotion I am trying to get across, and I can just sit back and let you read it instead of feeling like I have to justify everything I say. That is not to say I am free from the consequences like many of the trolls who.. um.. troll.. the internet with nary a care to the words they give life too… no, on the contrary, I am very well aware that my words carry weight. Spoken or written.

Granted, I’m pretty good with the whole one-on-one thing too. I think it’s important to make sure I maintain some semblance of a social life and not just get lost on the other end of the keyboard. Otherwise I might end up looking like this…

the-hermit-monty-pythons-life-of-brian-1979-_161559-fli_1398352717

And that is just never a good thing.

Ever.

.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World.”

Add your $.02

