Confession… I don’t read many of the blogs that I follow. I know, I’m a horrible person. Truth is, once every other day or so, I crack open the reader and peruse the postings of other’s published prolifery. I’m pretty sure I used wrong words in that last sentence.. but I don’t really care… even though I know I should. But to say it more correctly, I open the reader and browse the more recent blog entries from those I follow. Some I click on and read. Some I open in a separate browser tab and read later (or look at and decide it’s too long and I won’t stay focused and just close the tab), and others I just skim on by.

However, there are a few of the people who post that every time I see something that has their name on it, I have to click and read. Tom happens to be one of them. I stumbled across Tom and his epiphanies sometime in my early days of my WordPress conversion, and his snark, wit, and self-defacing poetry have always caused a grin to cross my face. Part of why I like what he writes is it’s short,(not like most of what I write), and in those few short words, he packs so much funny. He reminds me of a blogger version of Jon Pinette (whose humor I sorely miss these days).

Another blogger is Marissa… Marissa is another one that has been on my list since darn near the beginning. I follow her for a completely different reason. Sure, she is funny and has a snark factor, but it’s the simple irreverence in her writing that keeps me coming back. See, she pokes fun at things that need to be poked fun at and doesn’t hold back. I’m sure this has something to do with the rock-n-roll background and her gloriously misspent youth… or she’s just crazy. Either way, her stuff always leaves me grinning when I read it.

And this just in.. while writing about these two writers, it occurs to me that the people I prefer reading are the ones that make me smile or laugh. I find that ironic, because in my own writing, humor rarely rears its head (unless you count how I rail on myself for my inability to actually write anything worth reading.. cause, there is always that).

Anyway… there are other people whom I follow, and I really enjoy their posts, but I could write another three-thousand words and barely scratch the surface. However, if you are interested you can always check out the people I follow, I’m sure there is a list of that somewhere… I think… (if there is, can you let me know where it is? K, thanks).

I would like to say, however, to the rest of those I follow, keep up the good work, the world needs writers… otherwise, who would tell our stories?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Switcheroo.”

2 thoughts on “A Shout Out…

  1. Thanks. I don’t always read everyone’s either. But I read yours, and Marissa’s along with Little Miss Menopause, and quite a few others.
    I find it difficult to pick one as a favorite. But I thank you for the compliment. And I now question your taste. LOL 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Add your $.02

