I’m Swamped…


If you were wondering whether or not I was partaking in NaNoWriMo, well for the second year since finding out about it, no, no I am not. I’m not sure how I feel about that, I just know that I won’t have the time because of all the writing I have to do to ensure I pass my classes.

You see, I’m feeling the threads of my sanity fray because school has decided that I have to write a whole bunch of essays and stuff. In the coming weeks, leading up to finals, I have no less than 5000 words I have to put down for my classes.

In one class, I have to write a 1500 word book report… yes, I’m in college and doing a book report. When my teacher said this, I instantly felt like I was back in middle school. I get doing an essay on a topic, but a book report? I was boggled. To boot, it has to be a non-fiction book on American history before Reconstruction. Here is where I sigh and roll my eyes because, for one, non-fiction tends to be boring, and secondly I have made it very well known I don’t care for most things that happened prior to the 20th century.

Ok, so call me a century-ist.

Follow up that book report with another 1500 word essay. I’d tell you what it’s about, but the reality is that I have no idea, because in that same class we had to read The Scarlet Letter this week. You know… nothing but a little light reading. Here’s the kicker in the preverbal pants with this class… found out my B.A. doesn’t recognize American Lit. because it isn’t (insert some fancy college word for not being what four-year colleges are looking for in curriculum).

My other history class has me writing a 500-word critical analysis on two primary sources, which honestly, doesn’t seem that hard… other than having to critically analyze two primary history sources. That one shouldn’t take me too long. I hope.

My other two classes are going to be easy. But in one, I have to write a total of 4 responses over the next few weeks, each at about 500 words apiece, and in the other, I have to answer 12 questions to the tune of about the same word count.

I’m starting to feel a bit like Prince Humperdink…

tumblr_lnxx5pEUge1qdldoro1_500

And yes, I may have miscalculated my total word count, but 5000 words is about as high of a number as I want to admit too at the moment.

Oh yeah, and I have finals I need to study for…

count-rugen-health

If you need me, I’ll be somewhere down in the Pit of Dispair letting the Machine suck away years of my life. (Translation… I’ll be buried under a large amount of school work I need to get done in order to accomplish my goal… someone remind me why I torture myself in such a manner?)

10 thoughts on “I’m Swamped…

  1. Don’t think of it as a “book report” think of it as a text based analysis of a non-fiction book. Bam! So much easier that way. Don’t let the Machine suck away too much of your life, I mean I don’t think you have a Miracle Max to bring you back.

    But have fun storming the castle. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The chocolate coating makes it go down easier. But you have to wait fifteen minutes for full potency. And you shouldn’t go swimming for at least what?
        Half an hour… ^_^ (or something like that)

        It’s one of my favorite movies too. I’ve had several copies of it, but people keep borrowing it from me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Todd… I’d be crying. Is there any non-fiction book about seduction that you can read? Or something hot and catchy?
    I wish I could remind you why you do this but the only thing that comes to my mind after reading this is: why are you doing this?!? 😀
    I wish I could help! (And I’m sure you can do it!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Add your $.02

